- Money
- Learners
- Parents
What each route after SPM really costs
Published fees and living support for STPM, Matrikulasi, public universities, polytechnics, TVET institutes and private pre-U, diploma and degree routes, with the rule that a missing cost is unknown, not free.
Reviewed by Mereka staff
Published 24 Oct 2026Next check due 24 Jan 20278 min read22 of 22 facts verified against their sources
The figures, at a glance
Every route after SPM has a price. Some are almost free to study. Others cost tens of thousands of ringgit. The price is not only fees: you also need money to live. This guide puts real, published numbers side by side so you can compare.
One rule first: missing data is not zero cost
Many pages do not list every cost. A page that does not mention hostel fees does not mean the hostel is free. When a number is missing below, we say so. Ask the institution in writing before you decide.
The routes compared
Figures are the latest we found in October 2026. Each one is for the year stated. Fees change, so check again before you apply.
| Route | Length | Study fees (example) | Living support | Still unknown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| STPM (Form 6, government school) | 1.5 years | Exam fee free for 5 subjects (2026) | None stated | School-level fees |
| Matrikulasi KPM | Not stated | Tuition and hostel free (2026) | BSHP aid if eligible | BSHP amount |
| Public university degree (UM) | Varies by course | RM7,800 to RM20,500 in total (2025/26 intake) | Not included | Hostel, other UAs |
| Polytechnic or community college | Varies by course | RM200 a semester | Hostel RM60 a semester (POLISAS, 2024/25) | Current-year rate |
| ILP/ADTEC (ADTEC Selandar course) | 15 months | Tuition free, RM750 registration (2026 listing) | Free hostel and meals, RM100 allowance | Varies by course |
| IKBN (Wakaf Tapai course) | 24 months | Fully sponsored (2026 listing) | Free hostel and meals, RM100 to RM300 a month | Registration fee |
| Private foundation (Taylor's College) | 1 year | RM31,600 (2026) | None | Living costs |
| A-Level (Taylor's College) | 15-17 months | RM35,453 for 3 subjects (2026) | None | Living costs |
| American Degree Transfer (Taylor's) | 4 years | RM57,919 to RM68,589 (2026) | None | Cost of the years abroad |
| Private diploma in IT | 2 years | RM27,000 (MMU, from Oct 2026) to RM57,068 (Taylor's, 2026) | None | Living costs |
| Private computer science degree | 3 years | RM66,000 (MMU, from Oct 2026) to RM121,730 (Taylor's, 2026) | None | Living costs |
Government pre-university: STPM and Matrikulasi
STPM takes 1.5 years over three semesters. At government and government-aided schools, the exam fee is free for five subjects.[1] The official page lists no other fees. That does not prove there are none, so ask your school about any yearly contributions.
Matrikulasi KPM offers free tuition and accommodation. Eligible students also get a living allowance called BSHP (Bantuan Sara Hidup Pelajar).[2] The page does not say how much. You apply while you are a current SPM candidate, aged 20 or under.[2]
Public universities
Public university fees are far lower than private ones. At Universiti Malaya, total fees for a UPU-entry degree in the 2025/2026 intake run from RM7,800 (Accounting) to RM20,500 (Computer Science, Data Science). Civil Engineering is RM9,900 and Medicine is RM15,000.[3] These totals cover the normal length of the course, are charged semester by semester, and do not include accommodation.[3]
Every university sets its own fees, and they vary by programme. We could not find a current public fee schedule for UKM or UiTM. Ask the bursary (Pejabat Bendahari) of the university that offers you a place.
Polytechnics and community colleges
Tuition at polytechnics and community colleges is RM200 a semester. That figure comes from the 2023/2024 intake guide.[4] One polytechnic, POLISAS, still charged RM200 in 2024/2025, plus RM60 for the hostel and small insurance and cooperative fees.[5]
TVET skills institutes (ILP, ADTEC, IKBN)
Some public skills institutes charge little or nothing and even pay you an allowance. Each course is different, so look it up. On UP_TVET (mohon.tvet.gov.my) you can apply for free, and each course page shows its fees and allowances.[6]
Two real listings from October 2026:
- A 24-month course at IKBN Wakaf Tapai, Terengganu: fully paid for by the Ministry of Youth and Sports. You get RM100 a month in semesters 1 and 2, RM200 a month in semesters 3 and 4 and RM300 a month during industrial training, plus a free hostel and three meals a day.[9]
Private colleges and universities
Private fees are much higher. They also differ a lot between institutions, even for the same subject. All of these are local-student fees for 2026:
- Foundation in Science at Taylor's College: RM31,600 for one year.[10]
- Cambridge A-Level at Taylor's College: RM35,453 for three subjects, or RM47,054 for four.[11]
- American Degree Transfer Program at Taylor's University: RM57,919 to RM68,589.[12] The page does not say what your years in the US will cost.
Watch for extras. MMU, for example, adds a RM570 registration fee, a RM500 refundable deposit and RM540 a year in student fees.[13] For comparison, a PTPTN loan for a private diploma is capped at RM6,800 a year.[16]
Living costs
Fees are only half the picture. EPF's Belanjawanku 2024/2025 guide estimates the minimum monthly spending needed for a decent standard of living in the Klang Valley and other major cities, and you can download it free from kwsp.gov.my.[17] Look up the figure for a single person in the city where you would study. That guide is for working adults, not students, so your own costs will differ. Wherever you study, you still need money for food, transport, a phone and books.
For parents: the median Malaysian household earned RM7,017 a month in 2024.[18] Add up fees plus living costs for the whole course, not just the first semester, and compare that total with what your family can save or borrow.
What to do next
- Pick two or three routes you are considering. For each one, write down fees, hostel, transport and food for the whole course. Mark anything you cannot find as "unknown", not zero.
- Look up real TVET courses on mohon.tvet.gov.my. Applications for the Siri 1/2027 intake close on 16 November 2026 (6 November for courses with interviews).[19]
- Email the admissions or bursary office of each place on your shortlist and ask: "What is the total cost for a local student, including hostel and all fees?"
How sure are we?
Each fact or figure in this guide, and how well its sources back it up. Checking evidence is a skill: open a source and see if you agree.
22 of 22 facts verified against their sources
Verified · Its sources say this.
The STPM exam fee is free for candidates at government and government-aided schools, for five subjects, subject to Majlis Peperiksaan Malaysia rules.
Sources:[1]
Verified · Its sources say this.
For Matrikulasi KPM, tuition and accommodation are free, and eligible students receive Bantuan Sara Hidup Pelajar (BSHP); the page does not state the BSHP amount.
Sources:[2]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Matrikulasi KPM applicants must be Malaysian citizens, aged no more than 20 when applying, and current SPM candidates.
Sources:[2]
Verified · Its sources say this.
At Universiti Malaya, total fees for UPU-entry bachelor's programmes for the 2025/2026 intake range from RM7,800 (Bachelor of Accounting) to RM20,500 (Bachelor of Computer Science, Data Science), for example RM9,900 for Civil Engineering, RM15,000 for Medicine (MBBS) and RM16,500 for Dentistry.
Sources:[3]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Universiti Malaya's fees are based on the minimum or common study period, are charged as you register each semester, and do not include accommodation.
Sources:[3]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Tuition for all programmes at polytechnics and community colleges is RM200 per semester (stated for the 2023/2024 intake).
Sources:[4]
Verified · Its sources say this.
At POLISAS (a JPPKK polytechnic), session II 2024/2025, tuition is RM200 a semester and hostel RM60 a semester, with RM35 insurance and RM25 cooperative fee in some semesters; students on industrial training do not pay tuition.
Sources:[5]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Applying for TVET courses through UP_TVET is free, and each course's fees and allowances are shown in the UP_TVET course catalogue; allowances are set by the TVET institution.
Sources:[6]
Verified · Its sources say this.
UP_TVET Perdana applications for the Siri 1/2027 intake run from 1 October to 16 November 2026 for courses without interviews (to 6 November 2026 for courses with interviews), with offers from 17 to 27 November 2026.
Sources:[19]
Verified · Its sources say this.
A 24-month course at Institut Kemahiran Belia Negara (IKBN) Wakaf Tapai is fully sponsored by the Ministry of Youth and Sports, with a living allowance of RM100 a month in semesters 1-2, RM200 a month in semesters 3-4 and RM300 a month during industrial training, plus free hostel and three meals a day.
Sources:[9]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Taylor's College Foundation in Science costs MYR 31,600 for local students for 2026, over one year.
Sources:[10]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Taylor's College Cambridge A Level costs MYR 35,453 (3 subjects) or MYR 47,054 (4 subjects) for local students for 2026, over 15 to 17 months.
Sources:[11]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Taylor's University American Degree Transfer Program costs MYR 57,919 (Liberal Arts) to MYR 68,589 (Computer Science) for local students for 2026.
Sources:[12]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Taylor's College Diploma in Information Technology costs MYR 57,068 for local students for 2026, over two years.
Sources:[14]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Taylor's University Bachelor of Computer Science (Honours) costs MYR 121,730 for local students for 2026, over three years.
Sources:[15]
Verified · Its sources say this.
At MMU, under pricing effective 1 October 2026, the Diploma in Information Technology totals RM27,000 (2 years) and Bachelor of Computer Science (Honours) programmes total RM66,000 (3 years) for Malaysian students.
Sources:[13]
Verified · Its sources say this.
MMU also charges a one-time registration fee of RM570, a refundable RM500 deposit and a student activity and welfare fee of RM540 a year (RM180 a trimester).
Sources:[13]
Verified · Its sources say this.
PTPTN's yearly loan maximum for a full-time diploma at a private institution is RM6,800 (RM5,100 at 75%, RM3,400 at 50%).
Sources:[16]
Verified · Its sources say this.
Malaysia's median household income was RM7,017 a month in 2024.
Sources:[18]
Verified · Its sources say this.
The American Degree Transfer comparison uses a four-year planning horizon; quoted local fees are not the full cost of four years overseas.
Sources:[20]
Sources
Numbers in the text, like [1], jump here.
- [1]MyGOV (Government of Malaysia portal)Tingkatan Enam (STPM) (opens in a new tab)Published 12 Apr 2026 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [2]MyGOV (Government of Malaysia portal)Matrikulasi KPM (opens in a new tab)Published 16 Mar 2026 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [3]Universiti MalayaFee Structure, Bachelor Programme (Local - UPU), Academic Session 2025/2026 (opens in a new tab)Published 22 Oct 2025 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [4]Jabatan Pendidikan Politeknik dan Kolej Komuniti (JPPKK)Soalan Lazim Pengambilan Pelajar Politeknik dan Kolej Komuniti Sesi 2023/2024 (opens in a new tab)Published 5 Jul 2023 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [5]POLISAS, a JPPKK polytechnic (polisas.mypolycc.edu.my)Panduan Pendaftaran Pelajar Senior Sesi II 2024/2025 (opens in a new tab)Published 3 Jan 2025 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [6]Unit Pengambilan TVET (UP_TVET), Ministry of Human ResourcesUP_TVET Soalan Lazim (FAQ) (opens in a new tab)Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [7]Unit Pengambilan TVET (UP_TVET)Sijil Teknologi Komputer (Sistem), ADTEC JTM Kampus Selandar (ILP Selandar): UP_TVET course listing (opens in a new tab)Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [8]Unit Pengambilan TVET (UP_TVET)UP_TVET Katalog Kursus Perdana (opens in a new tab)Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [9]Unit Pengambilan TVET (UP_TVET)Sijil Lanjutan Teknologi Fesyen dan Pakaian, IKBN Wakaf Tapai: UP_TVET course listing (opens in a new tab)Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [10]
- [11]
- [12]
- [13]Multimedia University (MMU)Foundation, Diploma & Degree Fees, Malaysian Students (pricing effective 1 October 2026) (opens in a new tab)Published 1 May 2026 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [14]
- [15]
- [16]PTPTNPinjaman Pendidikan (education loan amounts) (opens in a new tab)Published 13 May 2024 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [17]Kumpulan Wang Simpanan Pekerja (KWSP/EPF)EPF Releases Belanjawanku 2024/2025 and Retirement Income Adequacy Framework (opens in a new tab)Published 12 Dec 2024 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [18]Department of Statistics Malaysia (DOSM)Household Income Survey Report, Malaysia & States, 2024 (opens in a new tab)Published 8 Oct 2025 · Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [19]Unit Pengambilan TVET (UP_TVET)UP_TVET Perdana: Jadual dan Tarikh Penting Ambilan Siri 1/2027 (opens in a new tab)Checked 22 Oct 2026
- [20]MerekaFirst Move: authored exercise, prompts and worked examples (opens in a new tab)Published 24 Oct 2026 · Checked 24 Oct 2026